Thursday, November 20, 2008

Hana's appetite and our first parents out...

20081119
November 19, 2008
I am here at one of the architects’ office and listening to the webinar… This one supposed to last for two hours. Yes, two hours…I will be released in 2 hours and 10 minutes from now. Coaching volleyball with kids is fun, but this is not fun at all. 5 of us are listening to the expert, or experiences coach, and looking at the powerpoint presentation. They just covered the sexual harassment part and listening to the negligence stuff.



Hana is doing extremely well. She is bigger and taller, also she understand more and better what we tell her. Like…Antonela was telling her that we are going out a few hours ago, Hana just started walking toward the door, and pointing toward the garage. Hana follows Antonela’s instruction pretty well….go and get that…come here…kind of simple things. I need to catch up with her Croatian instructions…I mean I should talk to her more in Japanese. It is not easy for me…or this is just an excuse maybe…but I can spend only a few hours a day…in weekdays…as I leave for office before 8, and come home after 5. She goes to bed at 7 or 8….that means…I can spend only a few hours a day with her…versus Antonela’s full day…well, I think I just need to spend more time in speaking in Japanese…to her.

What Hana likes to do…now… she likes to eat corns…a LOT. This Sunday morning I was just cooking corns..sweet corns..and she did almost finish the whole can. A whole can. We could not believe the amount she can eat now. She really eats well and a lot. The other thing she likes is eggs…especially spinach omelets. She can easily finish two egg omelets with spinach. Oh yes…one other thing..which just started a few weeks ago…is she wants to eat and drink by herself. She cries or screams if we take them off from her hands…and will not stop complaining until we give them back to her. Maybe this is a good thing, as she started using spoons and folks….(or is it forks???) She loves using them so much. Also this is so funny..but she did not like her hands get dirty. When her finger touches chocolate or something, she asked us to clean them….however recently she found out that she can just lick them off. Now she loves cleaning her fingers by licking them thoroughly. Almost every morning she eats yogurt with Cheerios. She sits very comfortably in her high chair, and quietly eats them using her own yellow spoons. She is not a fast eater, and it usually takes sometime for her to finish them all.

Okay, so no issues with food or her appetite. We do not have to force her to eat any kind of foods. She loves vegetables as well as meats and sweets…almost any foods. Only problems…or maybe this is just a common thing, but Hana is attached to Antonela…maybe a little too much. She cries often simply because Antonela is not around. This is a new thing and just started also a few weeks ago, but she is even jealous when I am talking to Antonela. Nonetheless when she does not like me to hug her…. One more new family member is on his way, and it will be interesting to see how she reacts to or against him. She will not like or can hate when Antonela is breastfeeding him.

Other likes and dislikes…she loves taking a bath…most of the time. She likes watches and bags. She likes her green horse rides..or the swings.

Last Friday we had our very first parents-day-out. We dropped her off at the First United Methodist Church around 6pm…and to be very honest..we did not know what to do. All we knew for sure was we have some “free” time and need to pick her up by 8pm or even 9pm. Well, both of us agreed that we did not know what to do…ended up with having a cup of coffee at Sweetbay. Antonela had hot chocolate, and I had sweet chai. We ordered our drinks at the counter, sat down one of the chairs..looked at each other…and both of knew we were thinking about Hana. We enjoyed a quiet moment for about 60 mins, and decided to go back to the church and picked her up. Her existence changed our life style completely, and we are enjoying the every moment of our life now. We just do not watch Late Night Show, or cannot go out for movies and nice dinners. Wherever we visit or go, we have more stuff we need, usually extra two bags for one night trip to anywhere.


A boy on his way here in….2 months and 21 days…if he is punctual…does not have name yet. We have been talking about the candidates…but cannot pick one yet. It could be Leon, Filip…and Yamato..Suzuki. I like Leon and can be written in Japanese easily…and my parents and Antonela’s can pronounce it without any problems. I like it…but Antonela is not sure yet. I like Leon….though..what do you think?

It is almost 9pm….yes 2 hours has passed and it has only 30 minutes to finish this session. I just cannot wait to see the last slides and head back home soon.

No comments: